MJPRU Hospitality Experiential Learning Group



MJPRU Experiential Learning Group was constituted by the Executive Council of the University in its meeting dated 8-12-2020. The group is actualizing the **vision** of our Honorable **Vice Chancellor Prof. K.P. Singh** of students earning and supporting themselves while being involved in hands-on learning and instilling **entrepreneurial skills** in students. The working of the group is a small step in initiating our educated youth to move towards becoming **job creators** rather than the job seekers.

The "**MJPRU Hospitality Experiential Learning Group"** team comprises of the coordinators and selected students of the Department of Hotel Management. The founding Coordinator and Co-Coordinator were Dr. OP Upadhyay and Dr. Hema Verma respectively; Mr. Azad Hussain and Mr. Paras Santoshi were associated for a short period and students Mr. Vishal Gangwar, Mr. Sachin Gangwar, Mr. Satyaveer Sharma, Ms. Vaishnavi Mishra, Ms. Manvi Mani, Mr. Moorish, Mr. Ali Abbas, Mr. Atharva and Mr. Darshan have been group members.





Objectives:

- To instill entrepreneurial skills in students via experiential learning.
- To involve students of the Department of Hotel Management in professionally managing the University Guest House.
- To run the University Guest House professionally so as to provide a comfortable stay for guests.





- To help students gain practical knowledge of hotel operational areas like Front Office Management, House Keeping Management, F&B Service and F&B Production.
- To enable the needy students to earn while they learn.
- To help teachers learn and gain practical experience and bring new perspectives into teaching and research.
- To work on any other assignments as required by the university.

Presently, the Coordinator members of the group are Mr. Vimal Kumar and Dr. Hema Verma; student members are- Mr. Vivek Lal, Mr. Ashutosh Jha, Ms. Vanshika Agarwal, Ms. Pakhi Gupta, Ms. Sania, Mr. Ashwin, Mr. Kapil and Mr. Harshit.

Activities:

 The group hosted lunch for dignitaries during the 18th convocation of the university on April 15, 2021



The group had the privilege to host Honorable Shri Giriraj Singh, Union Cabinet Minister, Fisheries, Animal Husbandry and Dairying, on his visit to the university on July 4, 2021. The Honorable Vice Chancellor, Prof. K.P. Singh apprised the Honorable Minister regarding the constitution and working of the group. The Honorable Minister was very pleased to interact with students and motivated them.



The group managed and catered refreshments for examiners at the Central Evaluation Centre during 2021 and the Honorable Vice Chancellor **Prof. K.P. Singh** motivated and appreciated the students for their commendable performance. The **Honorable Vice Chancellor also awarded cheques** to the student members of the group out of the profit earned through their good work.



 Our Honorable Vice Chancellor handed over the management of the University Guest House to the Experiential Learning Group in a program organized at the guest house on 04-01-2022. The students are being deputed in managing the university guest house professionally. The coordinators are working along with the team and providing overall guidance and direction.



 The group hosted stay, meals and ensured a comfortable stay for guests during the Foundation Day program of the university held on 15 February, 2022. The group hosted the Honorable Chief Guest Prof. Pradeep Joshi, Chairperson, UPSC and other dignitaries during the 19th convocation of the university held on 27 January, 2022.







 The group organized dinner in the front lawns of the guest house, for corporate and academic guests of Rohilkhand Incubation
Foundation (RIF) program on 26 February, 2022 and ensured a comfortable stay for guests.

 \circ ThegrouphostedlunchforthefortheTaiwanesedelegationvisitingtheuniversityduringDecember2022.



The group had the 0 opportunity to host Shri Baldev Singh Aulakh, Union Minister of State-Agriculture 25 on December, 2022 during North Zone Inter University Volley Ball Tournament.



0





The group was privileged to have hosted Honorable Chancellor, Smt. Anandi Ben Patel and other dignitaries during 20^{th} the convocation of the university held on 29 December, 2022 and during her visit to the university on 15 May 2023.

The Honorable Chancellor was very appreciative of the Experiential Learning initiative and encouraged the students.

- The group had the opportunity to host Shri BL Verma, Union Minister of State, Ministry of Development of North Eastern Region & Ministry of Cooperation during the 48th Foundation Day program of the University held on 15 February, 2023.
- The group has been hosting guests of the university during various programs like conferences, Executive Council meetings, sports meet, NSS activities etc.
- The group has hosted programs organized by various directorates in the guest house-Sarsoon ka Saag get together by the Directorate of International Relations, South Indian dinner by the Directorate of Social & Corporate Relations, Litti Chokha musical night by the Proctor Office.
- The group successfully managed service for the NAAC Peer Team visit during 29 to 31 May 2023 which was much appreciated by the members.

As per approval of the Executive Council, the University transferred a returnable revolving fund of Rs.3 lakhs to the joint savings bank account of the group- the running expenses of the group operations were being managed from this amount and also the income of the group is being deposited into this account. The group has already returned back this fund of Rs.3 lakhs to the university in September 2022 and is managing and maintaining the University Guest House with its own funds.



GUEST HOUSE



Our Honorable Vice Chancellor **Prof. K.P. Singh** continually motivates and appreciates students for their hard work and worthy performance. Cheques are awarded regularly to group members out of the profit earned through their good work.



PATRON Prof. K.P. Singh Honourable Vice Chancellor



Mr. Vimal Kumar Coordinator vimal@mjpru.ac.in



Mr. Vivek Lal Student Member



Ms. Vanshika Agarwal Student Member



Ms. Sania Rizvi Student Member



Mr. Ashwin Kumar Student Member



Dr. Hema Verma Coordinator <u>hema.verma@mjpru.ac.in</u>



Mr. Ashutosh Jha Student Member



Ms. Pakhi Gupta Student Member



Mr. Harshit Gangwar Student Member



Mr. Kapil Gangwar Student Member