Plant Science Dept.
Skip Navigation Links.


Department Of Plant Sceince
Head -                  Prof. A. K. Jaitly  

Phone -                0581-2520162

Fax No. -            

E-Mail -     

Establishment -   1985       

           The department of plant science came into being in the session 1984-85. It has its own well designed building with all infrastructural facilities, such as, specialized laboratories with sophisticated electronic instrument and equipments, lecture theatre and rooms, research laboratories, offices for teaching and ministerial staff. Some major sophisticated equipments have been procured like Atomic Absorption Spectrophotometer, BOD Incubators, UV Visible Spectrometer, Freeze Centrifuge etc to practice advance technologies of Plant Science. The department also has in house library capable of meeting requirements of students and researchers.
           There are Masters and research programmes in the department leading to M.Sc. and Ph.d. degrees in Plant Science. Some specialized subjects e.g. Biotechnology, Genetics are highlights of academic programems in the department.

            The sanctioned faculty strength of the department has been one Professor, two Readers and four Lecturers against which two Professors, Readers and Lecturers are discharging their duties. To assist the faculty, students and research scholars, lab assistants, attendants and ministerial staff are in sufficient number.

             The annual intake of students has been thirty for which entrance examination is conducted in every July. Since the inception, eighteen students have been awarded Ph.D. At present eight students are pursuing for their Doctor of Philosophy degree.
              Research publication amounts to around 100 papers published by faculty and research scholars. The department organizes seminars, workshops and conferences. Three refresher courses were organized during 1999-2000. Two seminars and one day workshop were organized by the department of Plant Science during 2001-2003.
The future plans of the Department focus upon the declared thrust areas, particularly Biochemistry, Plant Tissue Culture and Microbiology
 Designed & Developed by Department of CSIT, MJPRU, Bareilly
Copyright  © 2009. All rights reserved


Skip Navigation Links
About UsExpand About Us
Faculty & DepartmentExpand Faculty & Department
Courses OfferedExpand Courses Offered
DirectoryExpand Directory
Contact Us
Site Map